Pen pal project social studies

I am very excited to have letters, photographs and stories arrive from our partner school in Kenya. My students have already written letters introducing themselves and asking questions to their pen pals. As my sixth grade social studies classes are learning abut culture and geography in Africa, this is a real, meaningful and authentic way for students to learn. It’s taken a while to establish just the right partnership with a school, but I have connected with a heroic teacher at a middle school in rural Kenya. She is typing up all 70 of her students letters at the local cyber cafe. I will post more info as I get it!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

